

Dr Musonda Mumba Secretary General Ramsar Convention on Wetlands IUCN Headquarters Rue Mauverney 28, 1196 Gland, CH-Switzerland

26 June 2023

Dear Dr Mumba

## Resolution XIV.15: Conservation and management of small wetlands

On behalf of the PONDERFUL project, we are writing to congratulate the Contracting Parties for passing Resolution XIV.15: Conservation and management of small wetlands.

As partners in the PONDERFUL consortium, along with members of the European Pond Conservation Network (EPCN) and freshwater specialists from across the world, we warmly welcome this development, which strengthens the representation of small wetlands, particularly including ponds, within the Ramsar Convention on Wetlands. We also look forward to further protection being given to small wetlands by the Contracting Parties in our respective nations.

The passing of this resolution comes at a pivotal moment for small freshwater habitats generally. Globally, most waterbodies and wetlands are small: for example, 90 percent of global standing waters are ponds of less than one hectare, and small streams dominate global running water networks. Despite this, systematic bias against small waterbodies has often led to them being excluded or overlooked in policy. However, it is becoming increasingly clear that small waterbodies are critical for the protection of freshwater biodiversity. For example, research from UK PONDERFUL partner Freshwater Habitats Trust has shown that – at landscape scale – ponds support even more species than either rivers or lakes, findings that have been replicated in Europe (Denmark, Germany, France) and also in China.

The Convention on Wetlands' championing of small waters and wetlands comes at a vital moment – as ponds and other small wetlands have a critical, and very practical, role to play in addressing the freshwater biodiversity crisis.

PONDERFUL (**POND** Ecosystems for Resilient **FU**ture Landscapes in a changing climate) is a Horizon 2020 "Research and Innovation Programme" project funded by the European Union. Based across Europe and South America, our consortium is conducting innovative research on ecosystem services provided by ponds, including their importance for biodiversity. Additionally, early results from PONDERFUL's work on carbon sequestration in ponds is particularly helping to refine our knowledge of their potentially powerful role as carbon sinks, helping to mitigate climate change impacts. Overall, the results from PONDERFUL will significantly add to our understanding of these rich and diverse habitats, further enhancing policies to protect and benefit from these important and abundant wetlands.





We - as partners in PONDERFUL and fellow freshwater specialists - will share the results of the project to our respective governments. We will also keep the Secretariat of the Convention on Wetlands updated on our progress in learning more about these undervalued but critical habitats. We would also like to acknowledge the important role played by Tobias Salathé, former Senior Advisor for Europe, both in working with our project and providing important advocacy for small waters and wetlands more widely.

Once again, we congratulate the Secretariat of the Convention and Contracting Parties on this important step forward and will work with our respective governments to ensure this resolution delivers protection for small wetlands, and promotes the use of the services they provide.

With best wishes

Professor Jeremy Biggs (Freshwater Habitats Trust, UK)

Professor Sandra Brucet (University of Vic & ICREA, ES)

## PONDERFUL partner signatories

Professor Luc De Meester (Katholieke Universiteit Leuven, BE; Leibniz-Institute of Freshwater Ecology and Inland Fisheries, DE)

Professor Beat Oertli (Haute Ecole Spécialisée de Suisse occidentale, CH)

Dr Thomas Mehner (Leibniz-Institute of Freshwater Ecology and Inland Fisheries, DE)

Dr Manuel Lago (Ecologic Institute, DE)

Professor Johannes Sauer (Technische Universität München, DE)

Mr Lars Briggs (Amphi International APS, DK)

Dr Thomas A. Davidson (Aarhus University, DK)

Professor Dani Boix (University of Girona, ES)





Professor Sandra Brucet (University of Vic & ICREA, ES)

Mr Juan Arevalo Torres (Randbee Consultants SL, ES)

Ms Helen Greaves (Secretary, European Pond Conservation Network)

Dr Joël Robin (Institut Supérieur d'Agriculture Rhône-Alpes I.S.A.R.A., FR)

Dr José Teixeira (CIIMAR, PT)

Dr Malgorzata Blicharska (Uppsala University, SE)

Professor Meryem Beklioğlu (Middle East Technical University, TR)

Professor Jeremy Biggs (Freshwater Habitats Trust, UK)

Dr Sopan D Patil (Bangor University, UK)

Professor Carl Sayer (UCL, UK)

Professor Mariana Meerhoff (Universidad de la República Uruguay, UY)

## Supporting signatories

Professor Donald Baird (University of New Brunswick, CA)

Dr Sebastian Birk (University of Duisburg-Essen, DE)

Emeritus Professor David Dudgeon (University of Hong Kong, HK)

Professor Lenore Fahrig (Carleton University, CA)

Professor Ian Hawes (University of Waikato, NZ)

Professor Ken Irvine (IHE Delft Institute for Water Education, NL)

Professor Penny Johnes (University of Bristol, UK)

Professor Richard Johnson (Swedish University of Agricultural Sciences, SE)

Professor Aventino Kasangaki (Kabale University, UG)

Professor Mary Kelly-Quinn (University College Dublin, IE)

Dr Jagdish Krishnaswamy (Indian Institute for Human Settlements, IN)

Professor Jan Kubečka (Institute of Hydrobiology, CZ)

Professor Natalia Kuczyńska-Kippen (Adam Mickiewicz University, PL)

Professor Francis S. Magbanua (University of the Philippines, PH)

Professor Oghenekaro Nelson Odume (Rhodes University, SA)

Dr Mateus Marques Pires (Universidade do Vale do Rio dos Sinos - UNISINOS University, BR)

Rajeev Raghavan (Kerala University of Fisheries and Ocean Studies, IN)

Professor Rachel Stubbington (Nottingham Trent University, UK)

Professor Topiltzin Contreras-MacBeath (Universidad Autónoma del Estado de Morelos, MX)





Professor Catherine M. Pringle (The University of Georgia, US)

Dr Belinda Robson (Murdoch University, AU)

Dr Abdullah A. Saber (Museo delle Scienze / Ain Shams University, IT)

Professor Michael Samways (University of Stellenbosch, SA)

Professor Sidinei M. Thomaz (Universidade Estadual de Maringá, BR)

Professor James H. Thorp (University of Kansas, US)

Dr David Tickner (WWF, UK)

Professor Klement Tockner (Senckenberg Gesellschaft für Naturforschung, DE)

Dr Eren Turak (NSW Department of Planning, Industry and the Environment, AU)

Dr Nisikawa Usio (Kanazawa University, JP)

Professor Piet F.M. Verdonschot (Wageningen University, University of Amsterdam, NL)

Professor Jean Vitule (Federal University of Parana, BR)

Professor Ding Wang (Chinese Academy of Sciences, CN)

